Montserrat Mountain: Sant Jeroni

Being the hiker I am, I was eager to find a place to trek during my week stay in Barcelona, Spain. Sure enough, I found a multi-peaked rocky range located near the city of Barcelona, in Catalonia, Spain. By car it was a 40 minute drive, but by transit can be just over an hour bus ride. This place is well known as the site of the Benedictine abbey, Santa Maria de Montserrat, which hosts the Virgin of Montserrat sanctuary and which is identified by some with the location of the Holy Grail in Arthurian myth.

A friend and I decided to hike one of the highest peaks, Sant Jeroni.Though only 4 hours long, the trial consisted of a lot of stairs! Meaning the difficulty level will range depending on one’s stamina and endurance.

What I liked about this spot the most was how the top view actually made me feel as though I was on top of the world. Some hike tops don’t do justice to just how far and high you actually are. Sant Jeroni did not disappoint. There were also many different rocks, levels, and spots to take pictures and simply sit.

 

 

Leave a Reply

